Eva is home! Then back to the hospital.

January 22, 2015 Eva was discharged from the NICU, but not without a fight.  I didn’t think I was ready to take care of her at that time considering everything that had happened back to back with her health.  I remembered watching her expressions as we left the only place she knew, the hospital, and it was incredible.  She was always a very observant baby there so as soon as we were outside her curiosity was set on super mode.  In the car she looked out the window as we drove and watched the trees and at every stop she would look at me as if I gave her comfort because I was a familiar face but soon after that comfort faded and I became a stranger.

The moment I had been waiting for was right there.  My babies were finally reunited 142 days after their birth and it was such a let down… they ignored each other despite all of our efforts.  Soon after getting her situated I started getting adjusted to the g-tube equipment, medications, preparing her milk for the next 24 hours (which was very complicated), still pumping and the biggest adjustment of all… meeting the needs of two babies at once.  Soon after starting her feeds through her g-tube her crying started.  She was inconsolable multiple times a day from then on.  Because she had been connected to machines in the hospital always, trying to walk around with her to try to calm her would result in fear because she wasn’t familiar with that feeling of being held and walking.  I was sad, overwhelmed and wanted to die.  I was not suicidal but at this point I was running on empty with little to no sleep.  I had to stop pumping soon after she got home but the every few hours of pumping were replaced with adding more milk to her g-tube bag every four hours.  She was being fed 22 hours a day at this point and still connected to a machine but at least it wasn’t 4.

IMG_1862_2
January 22, 2015, The moment they finally met again after being born.

Then, February 8, 2015, happened.  17 days after being home I had the fright of my life.   This night I got up 30 min before the next time I had to fill up her g-tube bag of milk and I was tempted to hit snooze but something told me to stay up and watch her, so I did.  Probably a minute away from thinking I was crazy I noticed milk started coming out of her mouth… then her nose and she was white and unresponsive.  I knew there was a problem.   I stopped her food and started suctioning her milk from her mouth and nose and had my husband call 911.  Ultimately she ended up aspirating and ended up in the PICU for a few days and she remained in the hospital right up until the night before her next heart surgery.  Unfortunately as soon as we go to the hospital she was herself again.  I hadn’t seen that happy girl ever since we got her home and I knew at this point she thought the hospital was home and I realized there would be a lot of work to do.

IMG_2102_2
Here’s Eva happy that she was back at the hospital.

Her 2nd heart surgery was on February 17, 2015.  This time they did an aortic coarctation repair with a patch aortoplasty.  She was in the PICU for another few days but she did really well overall.  Following this surgery her heart has been doing good as well, praise God.  She has been able to come off 1 of 2 of of her medications that she was originally discharged with and we now are able to see her cardiologist every 6 months instead  of every month.  They are still monitoring that area along with other valves that are smaller than normal.  We know as she gets older they will have to intervene with surgery again but until then we thank the Lord she was born at a time where medical knowledge is where it is.

October 16, 2015 was THE surgery we knew she would need inevitably from the time she was born.  It was to remove a large cystic hygroma located on the back of her neck.  This anomaly is sometimes part of turners syndrome but in this case it was larger than they had ever seen.  Ironically this was the one surgery I had the most anxiety about because I knew it was going to take the longest but it ended up being the best.  This is because she healed so nicely and her pain was very minimal.  Tylenol did the job when they usually had to use narcotics in all of her previous surgeries.  Since removing it you can tell her neck is very strong and she is fast, ninja fast.  She is a lot happier and we are so blessed.  After all of her obstacles she consistently proves doctors wrong and its such a beautiful feeling.  She now loves being home with her brother and I am now the person she goes to when she is hurt or sad.  In the beginning I questioned if we would ever have that bond because of our very rough start but we do.  Our bond is unbreakable.

IMG_1174
The back of Eva’s cystic hygroma.
33809ED3-0165-4285-84F1-FDE0CBDE371E
Eva after, cystic hygroma free.

 

 

Leave a Reply

